West Wing Continuity Guide
path: Home / What's New * News from NBC

August 10, 2000 - Republican Pundits Marlin Fitzwater and Peggy Noonan Join Emmy-Nominated Series "the West Wing" As Consultants

The Emmy-nominated series "The West Wing" is adding to its stable of real-life political experts with the addition of former Reagan administration speechwriter Peggy Noonan and former press secretary to Presidents Ronald Reagan and George Bush, Marlin Fitzwater. They join current Democrat consultants Lawrence O'Donnell, Dee Dee Myers and Patrick H. Caddell.

"We are thrilled to have Peggy and Marlin join the series," enthused creator and executive producer Aaron Sorkin. "Their political background and vast knowledge will be a wonderful complement to our staff."

From 1984 to 1986 Peggy Noonan served as a special assistant to President Ronald Reagan. In 1988 she became chief speechwriter to Vice President George Bush during his first campaign for the presidency. In 1989 she returned home to New York where she completed her first book, the bestseller "What I Saw at the Revolution: A Political Life in the Reagan Years." In addition, Noonan has written "Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Happiness,≤ and is the author of ≥Simply Speaking," published in 1997. Her most recent tome, "The Case Against Hillary Clinton," was published in March of 2000 and became a New York Times bestseller. Noonan's essays and articles have been published in such publications as "Time," "Newsweek," "The New York Times," "The Washington Post," "Harpers" and "Forbes," among others. Noonan currently writes a monthly column for "Good Housekeeping" magazine, focusing on the values, dilemmas and rewards of family life and covers political news for "Time" and "The Wall Street Journal."

Marlin Fitzwater is the only press secretary in the history of the United States to be appointed by two presidents. As such, he watched history from the front row from 1983-1992. He gave over 850 press briefings in six years, winning praise from the news media and the public for his honesty and good humor. Fitzwater was named Outstanding Civil Servant in government in 1980, received the Presidential Citizens Medal from President Bush in 1992, served on the Board of the Woodrow Wilson School for International Scholars and has received numerous other awards as well as two honorary doctorate degrees. Today, Fitzwater is an author, lecturer and humorist who has appeared on numerous national television talk shows and provided political commentary for the networks during the 1996 election campaign. His book "Call the Briefing!" is a best selling memoir of 10 years in the White House.

"The West Wing" recently received 18 Emmy Award nominations, including one for Outstanding Drama Series. The series stars are Rob Lowe, Dule Hill, Allison Janney, Janel Moloney, Richard Schiff, John Spencer, Bradley Whitford and Martin Sheen.

John Wells Productions in association with Warner Bros. Television produce "The West Wing". The series was created and written by Aaron Sorkin and executive produced by Sorkin, Thomas Schlamme and John Wells. Kevin Falls is co-executive producer. Llewellyn Wells and Kristin Harms serve as producers.

August 8, 00 - Viewers For Quality Television Name "The West Wing," Sheen, Spencer, Quality Award Winners

Continuing to ride it's awards wave, NBC's "The West Wing" has racked up three more kudos with the announcement by the Viewers for Quality Television that the runaway-hit, freshman series has been named Best Quality Drama, Martin Sheen has been voted Best Actor, Quality Drama, and John Spencer has been tagged Best Supporting Actor, Quality Drama.

NBC programming topped all other networks with an industry leading 23 nominations for the 16th Annual VQT Awards. Viewers for Quality Television is a 15-year-old positive viewer organization comprised of more than 2000 members from all over the country whose sole agenda is influencing networks to retain critically acclaimed quality series rather than cancel them because of insufficient Nielsen numbers.

July 18, 2000 - "Janel Moloney ("Sports Night"), who played the recurring role of Donna Moss, the sarcastic but lovable secretary to Deputy Chief of Staff Josh Lyman (Bradley Whitford) last season, will continue in the same role as a series regular."

News: See information on the many awards and nominations "The West Wing" has gotten in June/July 2000 including "Take This Sabbath Day" just won (July 12) the Humanitas Prize for the 60 Minute Television Category.

Previous SiteMap Next

Quotations & some other material copyrighted to John Wells Productions, et al.
Email westwing@bewarne.com to report mistakes, make comments, ask questions.
A guide to the 70's series "Kung Fu" is also available (tho not yet designed).
An introduction to the BBC's "Blake's 7" (from articles in Fantasy Empire), available someday.