West Wing Continuity Guide
path: Home * Emmy Nominations 2003

Suzi Teghtmeyer sent us this list of

Emmy Nominations for The West Wing: July 17, 2003

55th Annual Emmy Nominations for West Wing,

Outstanding Art Direction For A Single-Camera Series
The West Wing - "20 Hours In America" (Parts 1 & 2)

Outstanding Casting For A Drama Series
The West Wing
      Anthony Sepulveda, C.S.A., Casting by
      Barbara Miller, C.S.A., Casting by

Outstanding Cinematography For A Single-Camera Series
The West Wing - "Holy Night" / Thomas Del Ruth, A.S.C., Director of Photography

Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series
The West Wing - "25" / Christopher Misiano, Director

Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing For A Drama Series
The West Wing - "25" / Janet Ashikaga, A.C.E., Editor

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series
The West Wing - Martin Sheen as President Josiah Bartlet

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series
The West Wing - Allison Janney as C.J. Cregg

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series
The West Wing
      Bradley Whitford as Josh Lyman
      John Spencer as Leo McGarry

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series
The West Wing - Stockard Channing as Abigail Bartlet

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Drama Series
The West Wing
      Matthew Perry as Joe Quincy
      Tim Matheson as Vice President John Hoynes

Outstanding Drama Series
The West Wing

Outstanding Single-Camera Sound Mixing For A Series
The West Wing - "25"

Outstanding Writing For A Drama Series
The West Wing - "25" / Aaron Sorkin, Writer

      Emmy Awards
      Shrine Auditorium
      September 21, 2003
      Telecast on Fox (8-11 p.m. EST)

From NBC:
Published: July 17, 2003


The Peacock Network Leads All Broadcasters with 77

Burbank, Calif. -- July 17, 2003 --- Primetime drama and comedy veterans - "The West Wing," "ER," "Will & Grace," "Friends" and "Frasier" - and latenight powerhouses "The Tonight Show With Jay Leno," "Latenight With Conan O'Brien" and "Saturday Night Live" - helped pace NBC to another leading Emmy nomination year among all broadcast networks as the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced nominations for the 55th Annual Emmy Awards this morning from their North Hollywood, Calif. headquarters.

NBC's tally of 77 nominations far outdistances its closest competitor, CBS, which got 59 nominations. Fox picked up 37; ABC, 33; UPN, 7 and the WB, 2.

"This is another great year for NBC," said Jeff Zucker, President of NBC Entertainment. "Our commitment to quality programs once again pays off. We are extremely proud that our comedies and dramas continue to deliver year after year. With 15 nominations, 'The West Wing' continues to reign as the ideal of what NBC stands for. I am also delighted that our late night shows -- 'The Tonight Show With Jay Leno,' 'Late Night With Conan O'Brien' and 'Saturday Night Live' -- which are all in the running for Outstanding Variety/Music/Comedy Series -- are as popular with the Emmy voters as they are with our viewers. My sincerest congratulations to everyone who was nominated for an Emmy Award this year."

"The West Wing," voted the Outstanding Drama Series for the past three years and also a TV Academy record holder as the series having won the most Emmys in both its first season (9) and also in any single season (9), has once again been nominated as Outstanding Drama Series. Cast members Martin Sheen (a three-time Emmy nominee for "The West Wing"), Allison Janney (a three-time Emmy winner), John Spencer (an Emmy winner last year), Bradley Whitford (an Emmy winner in 2001) and Stockard Channing (an Emmy winner last year) have also been nominated. Tim Matheson and Matthew Perry were nominated as Outstanding Guest Actor while Christopher Misiano picked up directing nomination and Aaron Sorkin grabbed a writing nod....

Creative Arts Emmys will be presented September 13 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. The primetime awards will be handed out in a televised ceremony (Fox) on September 21, also from the Shrine Auditorium.


Posted September 18 by David Daniel on Television Without Pity's West Wing Forum:
I have a feeling people will be asking Emmy questions over the next few days, so here's a quick list of the show's 15 nominations. As you'll see, we were shut out last weekend at the Creative Arts Emmys, so the most we can win this year is seven (unless JS and BW tie)
(Note - Winners are now in red):

  • *****Drama Series - a fourth straight win; up against CSI, Six Feet Under, The Sopranos, and 24.
  • Lead Actor, Martin Sheen - his fourth straight nomination for the role; never won yet, though he won a '94 Emmy for guesting on Murphy Brown.
  • Directing, Chris Misiano for Twenty Five - as a co-executive producer, shared in last year's Best Drama win, and would do so again this year.
  • Lead Actress, Allison Janney - won the category last year; won Supporting Actress the previous two years.
  • Supporting Actress, Stockard Channing - nominated all four years; won last year.
  • Supporting Actor, John Spencer - nominated all four years; won last year.
  • Supporting Actor, Bradley Whitford - third nomination; won in 2001.
  • Writing, Aaron Sorkin for Twenty Five - nominated all four years; won in 2000 for In Excelsis Deo.

    Creative Arts Emmys (already awarded):
  • Guest Actor in a Drama, Matthew Perry and Tim Matheson - both lost to Charles S. Dutton for Without a Trace.
  • Cinematography, Thomas Del Ruth for Holy Night - lost to Michael D. O'Shea for CSI: Miami.
  • Editing, Janet Ashikaga for Twenty Five - lost to Chris Willingham for 24.
  • Art Direction, Ken Hardy and Ellen Totleben for 20HiA - lost to Without a Trace.
  • Casting, Anthony Sepulveda and Barbara Miller - lost to Six Feet Under.
  • Sound Mixing, Gary D. Rogers, Dan Hiland and Patrick Hanson for Twenty Five - lost to ER.

See also Characters, including Actors.

Previous SiteMap Next

Quotations & some other material copyrighted to John Wells Productions, et al.
Email westwing@bewarne.com to report mistakes, make comments, ask questions
(note: above email address doesn't reach anyone connected to the show itself).
     Amazon    MIS